Getting Started with Web-Dynpro ABAP

I played around with the first beta-versions of WebDynpro Java (WDJ) already some years ago, now that NetWeaver 2004s (AS ABAP 7.0) is available I also had the chance to go in for WebDynpro ABAP (WDA). This is the version we will probably work the most with, as it doesn’t need a separate runtime environment, is directly integrated into the ERP-system and thereby makes developing business applications based on ERP-functionality much easier.

I am approaching the topic by working through the book “Web Dynpro for ABAP” by Ulli Hoffmann, which treats the subjects with hands-on examples, various source-code excerpts and screenshots rather than abstract descriptions.

The WebDynpro-framework, development tools and runtime environment apparently bring a lot of advantages to (web-)application developers (and users):

  • Declarative and graphical tools speed up the development of UIs
  • The MVC-model leads to a clear separation of layout and business-logic
  • Data-binding makes it easier to bring the data to the frontend and enables automatic type-checking
  • The componentization-options allow reuse on the presentation-level of applications
  • The runtime generates highly interactive, “flicker-free” screens running within a standard-browser

But I have to say that I also like programming BSP‘s with HTMLB and the MVC-model very much. This concept has most of the mentioned advantages too, but offers more flexibility I would say, especially when it comes to dynamically generating screens or parts of screens. WebDynpro becomes slightly complex there.

Those are also good starting-points to WebDynpro ABAP (besides the mentioned book):


Technorati
:

20 thoughts on “Getting Started with Web-Dynpro ABAP

  1. not a big deal. I’m glad to get some feedback, and even better if it is positive. I got the chance to write about this topic and since I’m more a programmer than anything else, I tried to put in a lot of examples which can be (more or less) easily recreated. It might be sometimes cumbersome to follow the steps described through multiple pages. I’m currently working on a summary which will be put at the end of each chapter. (in case I get the chance to do a second issue).
    Besides that, I could need some feedback on some tool/application ideas in the web dynpro abap area. In case you guys are interested, drop me a mail.

    regards, Ulli

  2. Request anyone to send me a copy of this book ulli hoffmann’s web dynpro for abap.I am also new to this technlogy and would like to learn this subject.

  3. Hi Ulli,

    I am going through your book.I am working on 3 chapter the problems which i faced was ,for each layout elements there is a class .you didn’t mention how to identify the classes.you have just used them.In select options topic for DropDownBykey u are taking about context info attribute info ,but didn’t mention what an info is.

  4. Hi All,

    Can anyone please send me the book mentioned above.

    email:ag.jayshree@gmail.com

    Thanks
    Jayshree

  5. Hi
    I’ve worked on ABAP before, but I no longer have access to an SAP box to learn on. Is there anyway of getting a mini-sap version that I can practice web dynpro programming on?
    Kindest Regards

  6. Thanks a lot for the information you are providing on SAP Webdynpro and the topics that are covered up.are very helpful.
    i would like to ask that what is the scope of SAP webdynpro ABAP training what all topics
    should be covered and has anyone studies from this course
    http://www.wiziq.com/course/8153-sap-web-dynpro-pro-abap-training of SAP webdynpro ABAP training ??
    or tell me any other guidance…
    would really appreciate help… and Also i would like to thank for all the information you are
    providing on SAP Webdynpro ABAP training.

Leave a Reply

